The chapel, in its present form, was built in 1681 by a member of the Prack zu Asch family at Angerburg Castle. According to an old local legend, the lord of the castle lived a life of excess and, as punishment, a child was born to him with the body of a dog and the face of a human. He vowed to build a chapel dedicated to the Virgin Mary if the child died. This legend is still commemorated today by a fresco depicting the dog with a human face.

Originally, the chapel housed a wooden sculpture of the Virgin Mary and the Christ Child, dating from the late 15th century and showing the influence of the artist Michael Pacher. In the past, the Feast of the Visitation of Mary, celebrated on 2 July, was observed here with great solemnity as the traditional “Stöcklkirchtag.”

Gallery
Information
aria.location: 39031 Reischach/Riscone
Map
You might be interested in
Discover similar places
aria.poi_location_prefix Bruneck and surroundings
St. Katherine's Church
Open
closed
aria.poi_category_prefix Churches, chapels, religious centres
aria.poi_location_prefix Bruneck and surroundings
Ursuline Church
Open
closed
aria.poi_category_prefix Churches, chapels, religious centres
aria.poi_location_prefix Bruneck and surroundings
Church at Haselried
aria.poi_category_prefix Churches, chapels, religious centres
aria.poi_location_prefix Bruneck and surroundings
Holy Spirit Church
Open
closed
aria.poi_category_prefix Churches, chapels, religious centres
aria.poi_location_prefix Bruneck and surroundings
Pilgrimage Church Maria Saalen
Open
closed
aria.poi_category_prefix Churches, chapels, religious centres
aria.poi_location_prefix Bruneck and surroundings
Capuchin Church
aria.poi_category_prefix Churches, chapels, religious centres